Spirit of Literacy Awards

2020 and 2021 Spirit of Literacy Award winners

One of the signature programs of the Friends of the Scottsdale Public Library is the Spirit of Literacy (SOL) Awards breakfast.

Held since 2002, the SOL Awards recognize significant contributions to support libraries and literacy in Scottsdale by individuals, corporations, foundations, and other entities.

Winners are selected annually by the Friends Board of Directors.

Here is a complete list of Spirit of Literacy Awards winners:

2002Judy Register
DC Ranch
McDowell Mountain Ranch
2003Sue Jenkins
Harry J. Lazarus Family Fund
2004Michael Lacapa
Glenna Phelps
Arizona Republic/12 News Season for Sharing
Pendleton Memorial Fund
2005Marguerite Lankford
Barbara Peters
Robert Rosenwald
Thunderbirds Charities
2006Scottsdale Charros
Scottsdale Public Library Teen Advocates
The Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust
2007Fred Christensen
Sondra Mesnik
Brad Schell
2008Barbara Hatch
Joann Hamilton-Selway
Bill Jenkins
Cactus Shadows High School/Arizona Veterans Heritage Project students
2009Sam Campana
Beth Fielder
Lou Ann Noel
The Grayhawk Classic Residents’ Foundation
2010Mary Manross
Stephanie Meyer
Doug Sydnor
Arizona Diamondbacks
2011Wayne Ecton
Dan Harkins
Paul and Cora Messinger
Chipotle Mexican Grill
2012Mary Amburn
Patricia Meyers
Civil War Round Table
2014Jean Johnson
Joan Fudala
Marie Raymond
Contemporary Literature Book Discussion Group
2020Lois McFarland
David and Diana Smith
Silverman Family Foundation
2021Jim & Sandy Bruner
Christine & Rick Kovach
Teresa Kim Hayes-Quale
Karen Yamasaki
2022Peggy Sharp Chamberlain
Phillip Payne/Anticus Fine Art Gallery
Mariko Whelan
Literary Society of the Southwest
2023Pat Ansell
Trey Granger
Betty Webb
Fiesta Bowl Charities